Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Why is cutting military spending never on the table?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Why is cutting military spending never on the table?

Am I missing something? Isn't this how Newt and Slick Willy came to terms back when I was an undergrad?

Are active duty a big enough voting block that neither party can afford to cross them?

Are we really that scared of war?

Is it simply because we have to fund these Military Industrial Complex companies to keep them on U.S. soil?

Someone enlighten me. No party affiliation necessary.

edited to add: interesting link - and I don't think the author is a commie bastard like myself...

http://www.businessinsider.com/we-sh...adually-2013-2
    Last edited by Matt J; 12 November 2013, 04:35 PM.

Well technically you aren't correct. As the article you linked says military spending is being cut and by more then a minimal amount due to the sequester. Personally I would gut it but that is just me. To answer your question I think there are two reasons. One defense lobbying and two the minds of most conservative republicans. I am not sure I will ever understand why they think we should spend so much on defense but it appears to be some type of fear or desire to be able go to war with everyone at a moments notice.