Switching bindings between skis

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Switching bindings between skis

Very pleased to have received via UPS this morning a pair of new Voile V8s. Going to stick with the Axls again this year despite wanting to shave some weight. The Axls are on a pair of Voile Insanes, but I'd like to be able to use them for both the V8s and the Insanes. I'm thinking quiver killers, but I have no experience with them. How are they meant to be used? An occasional switch? Or can they be switched out on a more frequent basis? Is that the ideal solution?Click image for larger version

Name:	photo.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	117.8 KB
ID:	89172

Quiver killers are the answer. As with any machine threaded insert, you can't just power drive 'em in all the time 'cuz if you cross thread 'em and than apply power you've destroyed the value of your insert. Just make sure you start the screws by hand a few threads, then power drive 'em. I also suggest using plumbers tape for a bit o' lubrication and sealing out moisture so they don't rust shut. It does mean checking that they are tight on a regular basis though.

Ideally you should have two pair of Axls. At least, that's what Chris tells me at 22D.

ain't no turn like tele!

Comment

I wouldn't power drive the machine screws. They don't go in very far and you shouldn't need much torque to get a good grip. We use them on all our demo skis with a long stemmed Allen wrench. You just spin it between your thumb and forefinger until it stops and then tighten it at most a quarter turn from there. We switch back and forth between 22 Designs and Marker bindings every week with no problem. Super easy.

It would be a good idea to drill holes for the quiver killers with a drill press but not necessary if you are really careful unless you are mounting tech bindings in them. In that case, use a drill press.
      Last edited by cesare; 13 September 2013, 04:34 PM.

Comment