Transition from Duckbill to NTN help.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Transition from Duckbill to NTN help.

I've been skiing telemark for 20 years. TRace on Targas BD Crossbows and Volkl Katanas. I'm a fairly aggressive and fluid skier. No hitches between turns.

I demo'd a pair of NTN boats a few years ago and had a really hard time sinking into the turn. Almost impossible. I was skiing a lot that year and was in decent shape.

Any advice on how to re-learn to telemark on NTN? I'm considering buying an entire new rig with Scarpa TX Pros. Thanks and sorry if this question has been asked 1,000,000 times.

Also, 6'4" 200lbs.

Dostie started the conversation here: http://www.earnyourturns.com/22661/t...tn-revelation/

Well, I have been exclusively on NTN for a few years, but on NTN, you need to keep your feet closer in line with each other. So no poodling, where the trailing foot is wayy back there.. Also a more upright stance. You don't lift your heel as much off the ski as a 75 mm setup. Later on you can drop a knee further, but that will be more difficult with new boots. A friend of mine who is breaking in new Prophet NTN boots is skiing them in walk mode all the time.
    You will really like the increased edge control, with NTN and keeping your heels on the ski to make quick parallel turns (when necessary) is very effective.
    Good luck!

ps. Dosties remarks are about the Freeride binding. Buy the much better (and lighter ) Freedom binding. It skis better, more fluid turns IMHO. Same for the Burntmtn Spike NTBulldog binding.
    Last edited by chamonix; 2 February 2015, 04:36 PM.

Comment

Check the settings to see where the spring cartridges are set. I'm 6'1", 185 and ski red at 1 on Freerides and Blue at 1 on Freedoms. Any more and I feel like I'm locked down.

Also, for your first few days, loosen your boots or even ski in walk mode. You will get used to it and it's well worth it, but it does take some transitioning.

Comment